While people are busy settling down and investing in kids, partners and family, my late twenties have unconventionally been the time where I decided to invest in myself.

 “What is necessary to change a person is to change his awareness of himself” – Abraham Maslow.

Slogging away through most part of school, college and work years, I never pursued my talents or hobbies except read books. Though an unsettling feeling has always haunted me about this, I actively did not seek to resolve it.

“A musician must make music, an artist must paint, a poet must write, if he is to be ultimately at peace with himself.” – Abraham Maslow

Sketching

Two years ago, I accidentally discovered that I could sketch. Mostly through instinct, I discovered some sketching techniques. But now I am starting to learn through books and tutorials to refine my sketches.  These are not goals or a compulsion to master the art but simply because I am passionate. I love to sketch animals.

Painting

Since, I started to sketch well with pencils I did not want to venture into colours. A little introspection taught me that I am afraid of criticism and failure. Well, I overcame that feeling by beginning to paint. Just by instinct I have discovered a lot of brush strokes to produce different effects. I don’t bother if my work is shoddy; it is very exhilarating to work with colours.
  

“The very essence of the creative is its novelty, and hence we have no standard by which to judge it”-Carl Rogers

Writing

A compulsion to share everything that’s on my mind, I have taken to writing poems and articles.I adore my handwriting and the prospect of using an ink pen drives me wild. I keep a book to document excerpts from my favorite books or songs. 

Music
Being a music-junkie, I sing and record songs on my phone. I play a few notes on my Guitar. I have a huge collection of music of various genres. My latest obsession is classical contemporary. I relate to songs, their moods, the lyrics and express myself through music. The experience is cathartic.

Do – It- Yourself (DIY)

I am obsessed about fragrances – perfumes, scented candles, pot pourri, aroma diffusers. I am also a protagonist of recycling and upcycling. So, I used my old perfumes, some crayons to make a scented candle and a reed diffuser at home. I had some satin ribbons and made some flowers for a crystal vase. I am trying my hand at crafts through Pinterest.

Books

I am a bibliophile and I love to read humor, fantasy and fiction. You are never too old to fantasize. Occasionally,I pick a light read and see its magic work through me. Sometimes, children’s books are the best things ever. A healthy regression to bring out the child in me once in a while is therapeutic.


“We shouldn’t teach great books; we should teach a love of reading” – B.F. Skinner

In Positive Psychology, according to Mihaly Csikszentmihaly, flow also known as the optimal experience or the zone, is the mental state of operation in which a person performing an activity is fully immersed in a feeling of energized focus, full involvement, and enjoyment in the process of the activity. In essence, flow is characterized by complete absorption in what one does.

maxresdefault.jpg

Sometimes I like to play with paint or doodle. Rather than wait it out to achieve something big, I love to learn something trivial. I do not have targets or goals. I rapturously pursue these hobbies, as these small outcomes provide a sense of accomplishment and re-establish my sense of self- worth. I simply relish the moment and take in the experience.

                              I got lost in the process and re-discovered my identity.

Like how Vicktor E. Frankl put it,

“Happiness cannot be pursued, it must ensue.”

